Allaland

ASIST Conference

Posted on: November 15, 2006

I attended the ASIST conference in Austin, TX this year and had a really great experience. First of all, Austin kicks so much ass. Its a big enough city that there is loads of stuff to do and lots of great restaurants, but its not at all overcrowded. Plus its fairly cheap (but than again, everything is cheap compared to LA).

I attended the social classification workshop (as it is quite relevant to my dissertation), and was happy to find out that no one at that meeting is doing the research that I am aiming to do for my dissertation, which certainly makes me feel relieved. It was also really interesting to see the very different perspectives people take on the issue of social classification. Ranging from cultural issues, information retrieval, and integration of tagging into libraries OPAC systems (ex: PennTags).

I also got to see Tony Moore and Kalpana Shankar from IU, so it was really great to catch up to them! Kalpana was part of a great panel on activism, which was actually my favorite panel of the whole conference. While Tony managed to rope me into doing a technical panel for ASIST next year, which I am looking forward to. The theme for next year’s conference is Web 2.0, which should prove to be extremely interesting and I will definitely be attending.

Leave a Reply

Alla Zollers

I design products and services that just. make. sense.

When products make sense, customers are happy.

If customer are happy, they sign-up, stay on site, engage, share, and buy your product or service.

Happy customers allow companies to profit in both senses of the word.

I provide the following services:

• Heuristic Evaluations
• Discovery Research
• Strategy and Vision Development
• Information Architecture
• User Experience Design
• Usability Testing

You can find me on:
Twitter
LinkedIn

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

